Eating the rind–a metaphor?

“Can I eat the rind of this cheese?”  Probably one of the most commonly asked questions in the world of fromage, with the answer usually a resounding yes.  Obviously it is best to avoid cheese wrapped in cloth, wax, or other inedible material such as leaves, but in general the rind is completely edible, and typically will add an earthy depth of flavor that might be a pleasant surprise.  I like to recommend that people try cheese with the rind first, but if you’re not particularly wild about the pungency or texture you experience, then go ahead and skip it.

Taking the risk of trying some scary-looking rinds might very well be a metaphor for this new blogging experience of mine.  “Eating the Rind” documents my adventures in cheese, wine, and la vie gourmande, and like I encourage all of you to first try that creamy Brebirousse Argental with the crazy orange-colored rind, I am myself taking the plunge by documenting my adventures everywhere from the kitchen to the orchard to Morocco to the herb garden on my windowsill.  Maybe you have never tried the rind of your favorite Brie, but it has been right in front of you all those years on the cheese tray.  Likewise, my obsession with food and cheese isn’t anything new (when my mother’s famous creme de menthe brownies were stolen from my lunchbox in second grade, I got on the loudspeaker to announce my displeasure), but this is a new chapter in my life.  New professional direction, new marriage, new apartment (albeit in a familiar city), and most importantly, a new layer of my life as a gourmande: sharing it with all of you.

And happy birthday Mom!      

Little eggplants

I took the plunge with these delicious and nutty fairy tale eggplants from Land's Sake Farm in Weston, MA!

This entry was posted in eggplant, French cheese. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eating the rind–a metaphor?

  1. carly cape says:

    LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Keep writing, I can’t wait for more!! xoxoxoxo

  2. Monica says:

    I’m pretty sure that’s the first thing I asked you when I pulled the cheese board out of my fridge during your visit last month. Love the name – it’s perfect! Keep the posts coming… I’m looking forward to reading them!

Leave a Reply

