Snow day in October

In my natural habitat

What was supposed to be a mild, sunny, fall day spent mostly indoors writing turned out to be an autumnal “snow day” for me and the hubby, who was unexpectedly sent home from work due to power failures at his office.  We decided to take a little road trip to the North Shore to a new (to us) orchard, Russell Orchards in Ipswich, home to all of autumn’s greatest hits: apples, pumpkins, cider, and homemade cider donuts!

Forget the fact that we don’t have children–the hubby and I still spent the better part of an hour checking out the chickens, pigs (Big Boy weighs in at roughly the same as our Subaru), miniature horses, and goats that wander around and act more like friendly dogs than goats.  There was even a troop of guineafowl running around!

Nothing beats autumn in New England. 

 

Blue Hubbard Squash

Carnival Squash

Butternut Squash

 

Acorn Squash

Cinderella Pumpkins

Guineafowl running from toddlers

Orchard

With apples, cider, and donuts in tow and the foliage in its glory, this unsuspecting field trip was a welcome break.

Then I made applesauce.  I don’t exactly remember how often Mom made applesauce when I was young, but the taste brought me right back to my childhood. 

Childhood Applesauce for 2

5 apples, peeled and cut into 16ths

few tablespoons sugar

few swipes of lemon through a zester

few tablespoons water–just enough to help soften apples

Place apple pieces, sugar, lemon, and water in saucepan.  Be conservative with the water, as you can always add more and you just want enough to help soften the apples.  Bring to boil, then simmer, breaking down apples with a fork until tender.  Adjust sugar.  Serve warm.

This entry was posted in apples, autumn, cider, Massachusetts, pumpkins, squash. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snow day in October

  1. LarivInTheHouse says:

    You had my kids at “applesauce.” Love the pics!!!

  2. LadyGouda says:

    Who wears gold lame (lamAY, not lame) flats in an apple orchard? HA.

    But seriously- gorgeous pictures that produced massive amounts of jealous feelings over here with your pal Shelby. I haven’t been to the orchards at ALL this season. I miss enjoying fall! I think I might have missed it this year, but I might start planning ahead to next year now.

Leave a Reply

