Culinary school redux

       

Best part about culinary school?  

You learn to make doughnuts. 

And croissants.                                                                                                                          

And butterflied, de-boned, anglaised sardines with orange beurre blanc, braised pheasant with Calvados, cider, and creamy wild rice……..and let us not forget the profusion of mother sauces: hollandaise, velouté, bechamel, espagnole, and the much debated “is it really a mother sauce” personal favorite, mayonnaise.

It’s difficult to sum up the last few months of food in several, let alone one blog entry, but let’s just say that it was one of the best learning experiences of my life.  It was unusual compared to my previous academic background in the sense that I was in “school,” being graded and critiqued, but based on my performance in the kitchen and my ability to understand and execute the techniques I so loved learning.  Being graded on doughnut and mayonnaise-making was like a dream come true. 

Now the challenge remains to continually use and develop the basic techniques I learned over the past five months.  Towards the end of my program, between school and a busy life in general, I actually cooked less than I have in a very long time.  And much like when I have returned from long vacations abroad, I missed my own kitchen and being able to eat my own food. 

Time to make the doughnuts.

This entry was posted in culinary school. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Culinary school redux

  1. Sheila Murawski says:

    Glad that you’re back! Pheasant with Calvados etc, sounds unbelievably good, and reminds me of one of the best meals I ever ate — it was at a restaurant called Fat Frank’s in Halifax, Nova Scotia, and the dish was chicken vallee d’auge made with Calvados, apples, and cream. Unforgettable! Looking forward to lots of new entries. Sheila

Leave a Reply

