The 12 days of Christmas: crabbies

You know that if I repeat a recipe here on Eating the Rind, it must be serious.  Attempting the “12 days of Christmas” series again this year is challenging due to a generally chaotic time of year, but also because I let loose some of my family’s greatest hits in last year’s blogs: crème de menthe brownies, caramel pecan sauce, chocolate bark.  This year I need to test, eat, and document new holiday recipes worth sharing.  However, one holiday standby not only deserves repeating, but its own entry.

Crabbies are not particularly chic (maybe in the 70’s?) and definitely not challenging from a cook’s standpoint.  But for me, they are the ultimate holiday appetizer.  Fake processed cheese and all.  Also, you can make dozens and dozens (trust me, you will blow through these at a party) and keep them in the freezer.  I make so many that I run out of freezer space around Christmas.  I’m telling you, I’ve yet to meet a person who didn’t return to the platter incredulous at the addictive power of the crabbie.

Crabbies

1 5 oz. jar Old English processed cheese

1 6 oz. can crabmeat

1 stick unsalted butter

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1/4 tsp. salt

6 English muffins, halved

Let cheese and butter stand at room temperature until soft.  Mix first five ingredients until well-blended.  Spread mixture onto 12 muffin halves and place halves on a cookie sheet and freeze uncovered for 15 minutes.  Remove from freezer, and cut each half into 8 wedges (or 6 if your guests are greedy).  Broil until golden.

Note: I almost never make these directly before serving because they freeze so well and still only require 20ish minutes under the broiler or in a 350 oven.

This entry was posted in appetizers, Christmas, entertaining. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The 12 days of Christmas: crabbies

  1. Susannah says:

    love your crabbies!
    Question for you – can you clarify what kind of crabmeat you use?
    like in a tin can – looks like tuna, but is crabmeat… is that the right thing?

    XO

  2. Amy says:

    I am totally trying these…I might just have to have them for dinner!

  3. Monica says:

    Alright, I’m sold. Will try at the next holiday gathering… Thanks!

Leave a Reply

