Welcome 2012: creamy potato leek soup

I have to say that I completely concur with Ms. Nigella Lawson in that I don’t want to listen to people go on about detoxing and dieting.  Morning television, magazines, advertisements–I’m tuning them all out.  Haven’t we learned yet that new years’ resolutions to drop the pounds and January crash dieting simply don’t last?

After over a month of holiday indulgences, while I find it completely normal to gravitate towards lighter, nutrition-packed fare, I also don’t feel the need to shove it down the throats of my husband or readers.  I believe that you crave what your body needs, which over the last two days has been nothing but hot beverages and simple, flavorful soups.  In fact, you couldn’t have paid me to eat a cold salad during the last two days of sub-zero temperatures.  I’ve been rushing Bean home from the dog park for steaming bowls of soup (yes, with heavy cream), but have also been loving my grapefruit and Cara Cara oranges.  I still can’t decide if we are going to have this leftover potato leek soup again tonight or if I should freeze it and go for another (butternut squash?  broccoli and spinach?), but either way it will be warm, satisfying, and delicious.

Creamy potato leek soup (serves 4-6)

4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

2 tbsp butter

4 leeks, cleaned well and julienned (white parts only)

5 peeled and medium dice potatoes (I like Yukon Gold)

2 bay leaves

3 cups chicken stock

1 cup dry white wine

1 cup heavy cream (can adjust to preference)

salt and pepper

In a saucepot over medium heat, melt the butter and olive oil, add the leeks and bay leaves, and sweat gently for 10-15 minutes, until leeks are soft but not brown.  Add potatoes, stock, wine, and bring to a boil.  Cook until potatoes are very soft.  Remove bay leaves.  Off the heat, use an immersion blender to puree soup.  You may also use a regular blender, carefully ladling the hot soup into the blender in batches until smooth.  Add cream to desired consistency, and season generously with salt and pepper.

This entry was posted in soup, winter. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome 2012: creamy potato leek soup

  1. Pingback: Orange chocolate chip pound cake | Eating the Rind

Leave a Reply

